Quitting sugar, week two!

2017-01-12_14.07.59[1].jpg

My mum’s excellent vegetable stew with a bread and butter sandwich (it’s so cold here the butter refuses to melt)

I’m at my mother’s house for the week. It’s always so easy to eat well while I’m here because my mum’s quite probably the healthiest person I know, and the best role model for a healthy lifestyle. She’s a vegetarian and there’s always plenty of fruit and veg in the house. She also loves walking and has a reputation for tricking people into trekking an extra 5 miles with the famous line “Can we go this way? it’s just a tiny bit further…”  When me and my brothers were younger, she would strategically place a bowl of fresh salad beside us as we watched TV after school. We’d pick at it absent-mindedly like a bag of cinema pick and mix (only much healthier obviously). By the time dinner was ready, we’d already consumed at least two portions of vegetables without paying any attention! Mum still works so she has this genius, no fuss habit of preparing her evening meals at the weekend. She basically cooks up a bunch of veg, tinned tomatoes and some chickpeas/lentils/beans in a pot on the hob and adds some spices and seasoning. She keeps it in the fridge during the week and then heats up a portion when she gets home from work. Easy! So that’s what I’ve been having for lunch. My diet is basically the same as last week:

Breakfast – fruit and full fat natural yogurt or egg on toast with avocado and tomato

Lunch – mum’s veggie stew with bread and butter

Snack – some nuts or salad

Dinner – I made a tasty vegetable lasagne yesterday roughly following this recipe although to be honest it took forever! On other days I had a couscous salad with roasted sweet potato, kale, tomatoes and spring onion / red pepper, hummus, cheese and crackers and an orange (It was late and I didn’t feeling like cooking) / lamb, potatoes and broccoli.

Drinks: sticking to water and tea for now

I can’t really comment on my energy levels because in the last couple of days I have come down with the sniffles. I will say that I think I am feeling more motivated and that getting out of bed does seem easier. I’m still not noticing any major differences in my complexion but that doesn’t surprise me. Hopefully I’ll be able to write a more inspiring post next week once this cold has shifted!

Alice x

Leave a Reply

