Week 3, sugar-free!

So I haven’t been 100% sugar free this week. A few hours after my last post, I ate a slice of fruit cake. This was totally within the rules as it was a special occasion. Having read a few books, blogs and articles about quitting sugar, I expected to experience a couple of things: 1. surprise at the level of sweetness I had been denied for two weeks and 2. a noticeable sugar high. Actually neither of these things happened. There was no instant sugar “buzz” and it tasted like…fruit cake. sweet and tasty but not surprisingly so. What I did find unusual was that I didn’t feel like I wanted more. I can’t say I wasn’t looking forward to having the cake after two weeks of no dessert but I was totally cool with declining a second slice. I have also noticed that my cravings are much easier to control. The cravings generally strike after meals and when I’m feeling a bit drained at the end of the day. If I’ve just eaten or I recognize that I’m not actually hungry, just craving out of habit or boredom, then I can ignore it and get over it in a few minutes. If I’m in need of a snack because I’ve had a long day and it’s going to take me ages to get home and prepare and cook dinner, I can graze on something healthy and that will suppress any sugar cravings til dinnertime. I just need to be prepared with a packet of nuts or a box of salad because while you can always find chocolate in a vending machine or local shop, they won’t always sell apples or carrots…

My skin is not particularly less blotchy but it does feel softer and smoother. I also don’t think I look as tired but I can’t work out if I am imagining it. I plan to post photos of my face every two weeks so photos will be up next week. Another observation, my hair isn’t falling out at it’s usual rate.

I’m feeling generally more motivated and optimistic so I think it’s time to bring a little gentle exercise into the equation! During the week I intend to walk to (and possibly also from, depending on the weather and my enthusiasm) my university placement. The journey is about one hour and 10 minutes on foot. I’ll also try to go swimming at the weekends.

2017-01-21_14-44-271

Yesterday me and the bf took a walk around cheddar gorge. I freaked out a little when I realized just how steep the hillside was! When we got to the top it was so worth it. The view was incredible! The weather was calm, the lighting was gorgeous and I felt so peaceful and content.

That’s all for now.

Alice x

 

2 thoughts on “Week 3, sugar-free!

  1. Pingback: Week 6, sweet temptations! | No Sugar For Alice

  2. Pingback: Weeks 4 and 5, no added sugar | No Sugar For Alice

Leave a Reply

